5 left in stock. Order now for immediate despatch.

Picture of CD of orchestral works performed by the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted by Sir Thomas Beecham

This is a unique, previously unissued recording of the early days of the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, founded by Sir Thomas Beecham in 1946. It is the earliest-known recording of the RPO and shows it with its first set of players. Sir Thomas Beecham gathered an impressive body of the leading orchestral musicians including Gerald Jackson (flute), Terence McDonagh (oboe), Jack Brymer (clarinet), Gwydion Brooke (bassoon) and Dennis Brain (horn). The concert took place in November 1946 and contains some of Beecham's favourite works including Mendelssohn's Overture to a Midsummer Night's Dream, Wagner's Prelude to Act III Die Meistersinger, Mozart's Symphony No 40 in G minor and Schumann's Piano Concerto in A minor, played by Moura Lympany.

Questions from customers about Beecham Conducts the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra – The Early Days

We want you to discover new music. Let us help you find out more about our products. Ask us anything and we’ll do our best to answer your question.

Recently viewed

    What you say about us

    • “Your comments about Kapustin are entirely accurate! I'm certain to be ordering much of it in the near future.” Ben, Lincoln, USA

    • “Thank you for the information and support. The order arrived today without any problems.” Denis, Sao Paolo, Brazil

    • More thanks...

    Need help?

    Shop safely with tutti.co.uk

    • MasterCard SecureCodeVerified By Visa
      All transactions are encrypted for your security and privacy

    Your guarantee

    • Your purchase is guaranteed.
    • A full refund of your original purchase will be given upon receipt of the goods together with a written cancellation request. All items should be returned to us in good condition.