ComposerGordon McPherson
Instrumentsmixed ensemble
LabelMetier (MSV CD90273(a+b))
4 left in stock. Order now for immediate despatch.

Picture of CD of music by Gordon McPherson, performed by ensemble Psappha - 2 CDs for the price of 1
Gordon McPherson's Detours (1998-2000) concerns itself with his experiences in cars. For example, the first section, "Echo's Tape", is about a drunken taxi ride with a stranger who later became his girlfriend ("two years later we found ourselves in the same cab splitting up for the umpteenth time"). The composer "draws upon musical loves and references from genres outside the classical canon". The set is completed by Maps And Diagrams Of Our Pain, a schizoid violin and piano piece inspired by obsessive-compulsive disorders, and the supple mini-guitar concerto Born Of Funk And The Fear Of Falling.

Questions from customers about Detours

We want you to discover new music. Let us help you find out more about our products. Ask us anything and we’ll do our best to answer your question.

Recently viewed

    What you say about us

    • “Your comments about Kapustin are entirely accurate! I'm certain to be ordering much of it in the near future.” Ben, Lincoln, USA

    • “Thank you for the information and support. The order arrived today without any problems.” Denis, Sao Paolo, Brazil

    • More thanks...

    Need help?

    Shop safely with

    • MasterCard SecureCodeVerified By Visa
      All transactions are encrypted for your security and privacy

    Your guarantee

    • Your purchase is guaranteed.
    • A full refund of your original purchase will be given upon receipt of the goods together with a written cancellation request. All items should be returned to us in good condition.