ComposerKarl Goldmark
Instruments2 violins, viola and cello
Printed sheet music
In stock. Order now for immediate despatch.

Picture of Sheet music  for 2 violins, viola and cello. Sheet music for string quartet by Karl Goldmark

Sheet music parts for Karl Goldmark's String Quartet Op. 8 (1860), in B flat.

Goldmark's chamber music was highly praised during his lifetime, however is now rarely performed - a great pity as lesser known gem of a quartet deserves to be more widely played and heard!

This is the only string quartet that Goldmark wrote, and is in four movements:

  1. Andante-Allegro moderato
  2. Andante sostenuto
  3. Allegro vivace
  4. Allegro molto

Goldmark was himself a violinist, and the string writing is natural and highly playable throughout. The style is somewhat reminiscent of Mendelssohn's quartet writing and is always well balanced between the four players. There is a lot for audiences and players to enjoy here: in particular the andante movement has some truly beautiful and expressive melodic writing, tinged with sentiment and moments of intense passion.

Watch / Listen

Questions from customers about String Quartet op 8

We want you to discover new music. Let us help you find out more about our products. Ask us anything and we’ll do our best to answer your question.

Recently viewed

    What you say about us

    • “Your comments about Kapustin are entirely accurate! I'm certain to be ordering much of it in the near future.” Ben, Lincoln, USA

    • “Thank you for the information and support. The order arrived today without any problems.” Denis, Sao Paolo, Brazil

    • More thanks...

    Need help?

    Shop safely with

    • MasterCard SecureCodeVerified By Visa
      All transactions are encrypted for your security and privacy

    Your guarantee

    • Your purchase is guaranteed.
    • A full refund of your original purchase will be given upon receipt of the goods together with a written cancellation request. All items should be returned to us in good condition.