ComposerJohn Ramsay
PublisherBrandon Music Ltd.
Instant download.

Picture of Sheet music  for viola by John Ramsay. Ramsay's four string quartets have been praised unanimously by international music critics following their recording by the Fitzwilliam String Quartets. These are modern works written in a relatively traditional tonal style so are most accessible.

John Ramsay, a Professor of Geology by profession, is also-on the basis of this new CD-a highly talented composer. The informative booklet notes tell us that he has also composed orchestral music, and these four quartets are very well described as 'excellent examples of post-modernist music, employing no artificial boundaries'-a comment with which one can surely agree. They exhibit genuine qualities of string quartet writing, and all four-quite recent compositions-are most accessible and deserving of attention.

Questions from customers about John Ramsay String Quartets 1-4, Viola

We want you to discover new music. Let us help you find out more about our products. Ask us anything and we’ll do our best to answer your question.

Recently viewed

    What you say about us

    • “Your comments about Kapustin are entirely accurate! I'm certain to be ordering much of it in the near future.” Ben, Lincoln, USA

    • “Thank you for the information and support. The order arrived today without any problems.” Denis, Sao Paolo, Brazil

    • More thanks...

    Need help?

    Shop safely with

    • MasterCard SecureCodeVerified By Visa
      All transactions are encrypted for your security and privacy

    Your guarantee

    • Your purchase is guaranteed.
    • A full refund of your original purchase will be given upon receipt of the goods together with a written cancellation request. All items should be returned to us in good condition.