ComposerMalcolm Dedman
PublisherMisty Mountain Music
Instant download.

* See a page from Suite of Dances

Picture of Sheet music  for harpsichord by Malcolm Dedman. This suite contains 5 dances, mixing traditional (Galliade and Sarabande) with less traditional (Rumba and Tango), ending with an exciting Danse Perpétuelle.

This Suite of Dances was written in 2015 for the harpsichordist Dominic Daula. It has five short movements lasting around 10½ minutes.

The five movements have dance titles and mixes traditional with less traditional. The movements are: Galliard, Rumba, Sarabande, Tango and Danse Perpétuelle.

The Galliard and Sarabande are a kind of neo-medieval in style, maintaining links with the traditional dances as well as creating new harmonies. The Rumba is based on the 3 + 3 + 2 rhythm throughout and the Tango is also based on typical rhythms and strong contrasting emotions.

The Danse Perpétuelle, which closes the suite, is based more on minimalist ideas (already hinted in the previous movements) which build up in speed towards the end.

Questions from customers about Suite of Dances

We want you to discover new music. Let us help you find out more about our products. Ask us anything and we’ll do our best to answer your question.

Recently viewed

    What you say about us

    • “Your comments about Kapustin are entirely accurate! I'm certain to be ordering much of it in the near future.” Ben, Lincoln, USA

    • “Thank you for the information and support. The order arrived today without any problems.” Denis, Sao Paolo, Brazil

    • More thanks...

    Need help?

    Shop safely with

    • MasterCard SecureCodeVerified By Visa
      All transactions are encrypted for your security and privacy

    Your guarantee

    • Your purchase is guaranteed.
    • A full refund of your original purchase will be given upon receipt of the goods together with a written cancellation request. All items should be returned to us in good condition.