ComposerThomas Roseingrave
Instrumentspiano and harpsichord
Printed sheet music
3 left in stock. Order now for immediate despatch.

Picture of Baroque suite for piano or harpsichord by Thomas Roseingrave (1688-1766), the English contemporary of Handel & Scarlatti (both of whom he knew), as well as Bach & Rameau.

Thomas Roseingrave's 'Eight Suits of Lessons for the Harpsichord or Spinet' were first published in London by Walsh c.1725, dedicated to the Earl of Essex. He was the true heir to the style of Henry Purcell, with whom his father, Daniel had been a contemporary chorister at the Chapel Royal.

The movements comprise, 1). Allemande; 2). Courante; 3). Saraband; 4).Gigue; 5). Minuet, and contain some daring episodes of bi-tonality, as well as false relations, and crunching discords typical of the English School.

Questions from customers about Suite No.6 in E minor

We want you to discover new music. Let us help you find out more about our products. Ask us anything and we’ll do our best to answer your question.

Recently viewed

    What you say about us

    • “Your comments about Kapustin are entirely accurate! I'm certain to be ordering much of it in the near future.” Ben, Lincoln, USA

    • “Thank you for the information and support. The order arrived today without any problems.” Denis, Sao Paolo, Brazil

    • More thanks...

    Need help?

    Shop safely with

    • MasterCard SecureCodeVerified By Visa
      All transactions are encrypted for your security and privacy

    Your guarantee

    • Your purchase is guaranteed.
    • A full refund of your original purchase will be given upon receipt of the goods together with a written cancellation request. All items should be returned to us in good condition.